Close one at Comerica

1_5 I FINALLY made my first road trip of the season today (better late than never) and it was worth the wait. After jumping out to an early 7-0 lead, the bullpen almost gave it away as the Jays hung on for an 8-6 victory at Comerica Park in Detroit. The Mrs. and I made it to our seats with only about 5 minutes to spare, after a 4 1/2 hour drive.

I brought a decent camera today and have posted plenty of pics on my sister site:

http://www.diehardballfan.com/jays.html

Jays have now won 5 of their last 6, lead Boston by a full game, and finish up with 3 in the Bronx.

Today’s summary:

The Good – seeing a road win in person…. In all my years of ballpark travels the Jays tend to lose way more than they win when I’ve seen them on the road. The drive home always feels a little easier after a victory.

The Bad: barring a miracle lottery win, this was my last MLB game that I’ll see in person this season. Hmmmmmm, maybe MLBlogs can send me as a correspondent to the playoffs…. yeah, that would be nice! I’m not picky – Shea, Comerica, Petco, the Metrodome, Yankee Stadium, Oakland… wherever! Will work for tickets!

The Ugly: Windsor Tunnel traffic jam… perhaps I should have taken the Ambassador Bridge?

2 comments

  1. jnh28sub@hotmail.com

    Nice blog and awesome pics!

    Looks like the Jays open the season in Comerica too. I’m definitely going down the road for that one.

    Any jays fans in Detroit? Usually there’s a good showing. I just hope I’ll be able to get my hands on some tickets for Opening Day…

  2. Steve

    Thanks for the comments!

    I didn’t see as many Jays fans today as I normally do in Detroit.

    I’ll definitely be going to opening day in Detroit next year since the Jays are there. What you have to do is watch the Tigers website like a hawk this January and/or February for the announcement of the day tickets go on sale. Then click away on the internet or keep dialing your phone. If you are persistent enough you’ll get some.

    A few years ago I went on a 7-stadium midwest tour and bought all my tickets in February and March. Wrigley Field tickets were the hardest to get, but I managed to score some seats in the upper level behind the plate.

Leave a Reply

